

LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

JAMES J. DONELON COMMISSIONER



## MEETING MINUTES

## LOUISIANA AUTOMOBILE THEFT & INSURANCE FRAUD PREVENTION AUTHORITY

## Wednesday, June 11, 2014 10:00 am Plaza Hearing Room 1702 North Third Street, Poydras Building Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Members present:	Chairman Warren Byrd, David Clements, Cleve Franklin, Rep. Mike Huval, Thomas Jeter, Lt. Jeff Watts
Members absent:	Terrance Apple, Richard Hagey, Willard Hamilton, Thomas McCormick, Vice Chairman Don Resweber
Staff present:	Director Jeffrey Zewe, Assistant Director Kevin Smith

Chairman Byrd called the meeting to order at 10:05 am.

Mr. Franklin moved to approve the minutes of the March 12, 2014 meeting and Lt. Watts seconded the motion. After allowing for public comment, of which there was none, the minutes were approved without objection.

Director Zewe reported on LATIFPA income, expenditures, donations and spending authority. The report was accepted as given.

Director Zewe provided a legislative update on matters of interest to LATIFPA. The report was accepted as given.

Director Zewe reported on the LATIFPA Public Awareness Campaign for FY 2013-2014. The report was accepted as given. Mr. Franklin moved that, going forward, LATIFPA obtain traffic figures for billboard locations in order to ensure sufficient traffic volume. Mr. Jeter seconded the motion. After allowing for public comment, of which there was none, the motion was adopted without objection.

Assistant Director Smith reported on School Curriculum Presentations and other Community Events. The report was accepted as given.

Allen Applewhite, National Insurance Crime Bureau, reported on the LPR/Bait Car Program and Activity. The report was accepted as given.



JAMES J. DONELON COMMISSIONER



Director Zewe discussed the High School Video Competition "Protect My Ride: Louisiana". Mr. Jeter moved that the Video Competition Packet submitted for Board consideration be approved for distribution to participating schools. The motion was seconded by Mr. Franklin. After allowing for public comment, of which there was none, the motion was approved without objection.

Rep. Huval moved that a Steering Committee on High School Video Competition Submissions be created. The motion was seconded by Mr. Franklin. After allowing for public comment, of which there was none, the motion was approved without objection.

Mr. Franklin moved that Mr. Jeter, Lt. Watts and Mr. Clements serve as members of the Steering Committee on High School Video Competition Submissions. The motion was seconded by Rep. Huval. After allowing for public comment, of which there was none, the motion was approved without objection.

Rep. Huval moved that the Steering Committee on High School Video Competition Submissions convene after December 15<sup>th</sup>, 2014 for purposes of reviewing and scoring submissions received pursuant to the "Protect My Ride: Louisiana" Video Competition. The motion was seconded by Lt. Watts. After allowing for public comment, of which there was none, the motion was approved without objection.

Mr. Franklin asked that the Board consider appointing Shawn Duet to serve in place of Mr. Franklin on the Steering Committee on Equipment Purchases. Mr. Jeter moved that Shawn Duet be appointed, in place of Mr. Franklin, to serve on the Steering Committee on Equipment Purchases. Rep. Huval seconded the motion. After allowing for public comment, of which there was none, the motion was approved without objection.

Mr. Zewe announced that the next regularly scheduled meeting of the LATIFPA Board of Directors would be held on September 10, 2014 at 10:00 am.

With no further business, Rep. Huval moved to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Franklin seconded the motion. Without objection, the meeting was adjourned at 10:35 am.